• ICP Web

Are teeth whitening strips containing alcohol permissible to use ?

Question:

Assalamu alaikum, are teeth whitening strips containing alcohol permissible to use? Answer: ﺑﺴﻢ اﷲ اﻟﺮﺣﻤﻦ اﻟﺮﺣﯿﻢ In the name of Allah, the Most Gracious, the Most Merciful

Principally, alcohol which is derived from sources other than grapes and dates may be consumed on the condition that it does not intoxicate a person (due to its small amount) and one’s intention of consumption is not to amuse and entertain oneself (details of fermentation and what is considered lawful and unlawful can be found in the books of fiqh). Furthermore, one must possess a legitimate reason for consuming the aforementioned alcohol, i.e. that which is derived from sources besides grapes and dates, such as: gaining strength, digestion of food, using it as medicine, etc. In conclusion, it is advised you contact the company of the teeth whitening strips; if they confirm that the source of alcohol is not grapes nor dates, you may use them. [1] Only Allah knows best Written by Maulana Mohammad Ahsan Osmani [1] Al-Sharhu Al-Thameeri: v. 3, p. 437-440 (Khatme Nubuwwat Academy); Al-Hidayah: v. 7, p. 285-297 (Bushra); Fatawa Hindiya: v. 5, p. 494-497 (DKI)


Checked and approved by Mufti Mohammed Tosir Miah Darul Ifta Birmingham

Recent Posts

See All

Kosher or halal labeled capsule

Question: If the medicine in the form of a soft-gel capsule says Kosher or Halal, and gelatin is derived from a water buffalo, would it be okay to consume? If I cannot consume it, can I give it to a n

ADDRESS

920 W PFLUGERVILLE PKWY

PFLUGERVILLE, TX 78660

512-67-QIBLA

icptxinfo@icptx.org

© 2020 by Islamic Center of Pflugerville